Oath of Allegiance

For king, country and people

The 8th Session of the Parliament began yesterday. The 8th session will be remembered as, during the inaugural ceremony, the Members of Parliament took the Oath of Allegiance to His Majesty the King.

I’m posting a (unofficial) translation of the Oath of Allegiance as a reminder of our promise to serve our King, our country and our people to the best of our abilities.

We bow at the feet of the supreme golden throne of the Druk Gyalpo Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck, the upholder of the Chhoe-sid-nyi of Bhutan.

We, the Members of the First Parliament of Bhutan, hereby affirm our trust and devotion in the sovereignty and unity of Bhutan.

Further, we offer our allegiance to serve the Tsa-Wa-Sum and shoulder our responsibilities to the best of our abilities with sincerity, dedication and impartiality at all times.

Signed on 11th day of the 11th Month of Iron Female Rabbit Year corresponding to 4th January, 2012.

The Oath of Allegiance was administered in accordance with Article 2 Section 5 of the Constitution which states that:

Upon the ascension of the Druk Gyalpo to the Throne, the members of the Royal Family, the members of Parliament and the office holders mentioned in section 19 of this Article shall take an Oath of Allegiance to the Druk Gyalpo.


Facebook Comments:


  1. i support OL

Leave a Reply